NLTDL: Whoa. I Got Bangs.

So a quick update in the life of Julie. I have started what I call my “Next-level To-do List” (NLTDL for short). It’s like a bucket list, but it’s filled with a variety of ideas from little things like going on a picnic with Cody and James to bigger things. It’s just things I want to do and I’m getting them done instead of daydreaming about them. I don’t know if that makes any sense, but it kind of does in my mind. Haha. 🙂

You may or may not be wondering why I’ve suddenly started this. Well, long story short, I got a new, kick-butt, amazing job. I’m not kidding. I love my job. I love what I do, how I feel when I leave work every day, and the department I work in. I also started going to therapy for my anxiety again. (Ah, anxiety…that’s a blog post for another day.) And let me tell you…I had some amazing breakthroughs. My life and why I do the things I do all made sense and clicked together. Anyway, with this new-found confidence, I found myself wanting to do bolder things. Things I’d always wanted to do, but always chickened out of or put off. So I started a list in my phone of things I want to do.

So here I am, on my blog, writing about my NLTDL because I want to document the amazing things I’m experiencing. Some things may not go as planned, but that’s the fun in the adventure.

First thing I did? Got bangs. This was one thing I’d always chickened out of. I’d leave for the salon time and time again thinking, “I’m going to do it. I’m doing it. I’m going to get bangs.” Then I’d sit in the chair, look in the mirror, and go, “Uh, just a trim.”

Well, not this time. I finally did it. And it was an emotional roller coaster! Haha! Who would have thought bangs would send me through what felt like every emotion?

At first…indifference. I knew I needed to give myself time to adjust to them.

Second…PANIC. Especially when my husband wasn’t a fan. (He eventually came around…I think.)

Third…fear/sadness/anger/tears. So. Many. Tears. Then came the bawling-over-the-phone call to my mom saying, “I’ve messed up. I look like an idiot. SAVE ME MOMMY!!!”

Fourth…defeat. No going back…I figured I could just pin them back every day.

Fifth (the next day)…happiness. I decided to be bold and wore my bangs like normal for church and got so many compliments. Thank goodness for friends!

Sixth (and finally)…JOY. I realized how much easier my hair routine had become. I straightened my bangs, pulled my hair back into a bun, and BAM…done. I swore I’d never go back to having no bangs. My hair routine went from about 20 minutes to five. And when you’re a working mom, that’s a WIN.

Now that you’ve read about the drama…here are pictures that I took when I felt like I was having my-hair-looks-totally-awesome days.

Photo on 2-27-17 at 8.06 AM
This took me five minutes. #WINNING
Photo on 3-10-17 at 7.42 AM
This was on a day where I felt particularly ambitious and straightened all of my hair. (And yes, I took these at work. Don’t judge.)

Now…where do I go from here? Well, I have some catching up to do. So brace yourself for the flood of blog posts. Next up…what happened when I started running again. Dun dun DUNNNNNN.

Leave a Reply

