ALASKA

At the beginning of the month, Cody and I went up to visit his parents in Juneau! It was AMAZING!! (Be warned: This is a long post! It really was an awesome vacation.)

When I was little, I always thought that all of Alaska was frozen and cold all the time. I was WRONG! Southeast Alaska is a rainforest. There are trees everywhere. I was beginning to wonder where the houses were because they’re all tucked back within the trees.

Our journey began with a four hour drive to Boise. There’s not much between Logan and Boise. Thanks to Greta, Cody’s GPS, we found a little A&W for lunch. But other than that, there was a lot of fields upon fields until we got close to Boise. We got to the Boise airport two hours early. We didn’t need two hours. We needed about 15 minutes. So we sat there and watched Honest Trailer videos for two hours! (Side note: I went to the Boise airport once when I was a kid. It’s a LOT smaller than I remember!!)

Our plane arrived and it was small. The propellers were visible. I was pretty unsure of the situation as we walked up to the plane.

This was the view from my seat.
This was the view from my seat.
This was our plane.
This was our plane.

During the plane ride, I was freaking out a little on the inside. It was a new, somewhat sketchy experience. The plane vibrated more and was louder that bigger planes. I’m still not sure how I felt about it. When we got to Seattle, we had three hours to relax. We watched “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” at our terminal. Yeah, we’re that cool. I was so excited when I looked at the plane and the propellers were hidden. Then we flew over Canada. I want to go to Canada so bad! I don’t know why, but I do!!

Oh Canada!
Oh Canada!

We finally made it to Juneau and we were exhausted. We got up the next morning and went with Cody’s mom to explore downtown Juneau. There were three or four cruise ships in the harbor and tourists all over the place.

You know what? Pictures are easier at this point. Then I won’t bore you with all the details. So, now I present, ALASKA!!!

Random shack along the shore.
Random shack along the shore.
Beautiful!!
Beautiful!!
I'm up to date with all the latest Alaska fashion trends.
I’m up to date with all the latest Alaska fashion trends.
Cody and his dad with the halibut
Cody and his dad with the halibut
Cody's halibut (It's a funny looking fish!)
Cody’s halibut (It’s a funny looking fish!)

And, yes, I did go fishing! I didn’t think I ever would, but I did! And I didn’t get sea sick AND I caught a halibut! Halibut fishing is hard work. It’s like yanking a piece of plywood that fights back from the ocean floor.

Yep, my first fishing license EVER!
Yep, my first fishing license EVER!
We were there on the 4th of July and watched the fireworks over the harbor.
We were there on the 4th of July and watched the fireworks over the harbor.
Mendenhall Glacier
The Mendenhall Glacier
A 200 year old piece of ice. I told Cody he should lick it. I also tried to get him to take a piece of it for a souvenir ;)
A 200 year old piece of ice. I told Cody he should lick it. I also tried to get him to take a piece of it for a souvenir 😉
Cody pointing out the fish in the fish ladder.
Cody pointing out the fish in the fish ladder.

Chums2

The fish hatchery. Look at all the salmon!
The fish hatchery. Look at all the salmon!
So, Cody missed some chapstick as he did the laundry and it went through the dryer. This is us trying to fix the damage. I would like to send a shout-out to Pinterest and Google for the help.
So, Cody missed some chapstick as he did the laundry and it went through the dryer. This is us trying to fix the damage. I would like to send a shout-out to Pinterest and Google for the help.
At Skater's Cabin. It actually was cold. I put my hood up so that the bugs would hopefully stop attacking me!
At Skater’s Cabin. It actually wasn’t cold. I put my hood up so that the bugs would hopefully stop attacking me!
This is Cody's new friend.
This is Cody’s new friend.
Downtown Juneau (taken from the tram)
Downtown Juneau (taken from the tram)
Mt Roberts
Cody’s other new friend.
The tram up to Mt. Roberts
The tram up to Mt. Roberts

Then we travelled down to Prince of Wales Island to the cabin. It was just as beautiful!

IMG_1384
A view near the cabin.
IMG_1386
The cabin.
IMG_1400
Near the El Capitan Cave.
IMG_1402
One of the many beautiful creeks in the area.
IMG_1408
Memorial Beach.
IMG_1410
Memorial Beach.
IMG_1425
Cody and I playing at Memorial Beach.
IMG_1444
All of this is floating on the water. A couple lives there and has a garden (on the right) for their food. It’s pretty legit.
IMG_1448
This was taken as we were heading to go visit Cody’s sister and brother-in-law at their lodge.
IMG_1449
Like I said, trees EVERYWHERE!
IMG_1451
The lodge.
IMG_1452
Cody, the baby whisperer, with baby Ty (our nephew) at the lodge.
IMG_1462
Hanging out on the porch with Ty
IMG_1467
Cody and our nephew, Dawson
IMG_1469
Cody rocking the Alaskan fashion while getting ready to fillet all of the salmon he and his dad caught.
IMG_1472
The beach in front of the cabin.
IMG_1476
The view from the porch of the cabin.
I caught a shark!
I caught a shark!
And I caught a Chinese Rockfish. It probably would have been nice if I'd caught something useful...
And I caught a Chinese Rockfish. It probably would have been nice if I’d caught something useful…
IMG_1522
Bald eagles fighting over the fish carcasses that were left on the beach.
IMG_1562
Bald eagles hanging out in the trees.
IMG_1573
If you count, there are ten bald eagles in the picture! It was so cool!
IMG_1592
Soaring bald eagle!

IMG_1621
Cody and I riding the ferry to the airport. We got caught in the rain as we walked from one ferry dock (the one we took from Prince of Wales Island to Ketchikan) to the ferry to the airport. It was fun to run through the rain!
IMG_1622
The airport is referred to as “Nowhere” because when they wanted to build a bridge from the main part of Ketchikan to the island the airport is on, someone from the government said it would be a bridge to “nowhere.” This is a sign in the airport.
IMG_1624
Flying back into Seattle
IMG_1633
The ginormous window at the food court in the Seattle airport.

I don’t know if these pictures do our trip justice. I had a really hard time leaving! (I may or may not have teared up.) I am so excited to go back! (There is an Occupational Therapy program at University of Alaska – Anchorage that Cody could do. Who knows? Maybe we’ll end up there!!!)

So, to sum it all up…ALASKA IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

