Not the Car!

There is a major cultural difference between my California roots and the area that I live in now. It is the tradition of decorating the bride and groom’s car during the reception.

I have heard a lot of horror stories. There’s the Vaseline on the windshield wipers. Or the plastic wrap that prevents anyone from entering the car. And there’s the worst one I’d heard to date: the brakes hooked up to the car horn so that every time you hit the brakes, the horn goes off.

I am paranoid about the car. I’ve tried to figure out a way to prevent this tradition. The best idea I could come up with was having a close friend hide the car, but I know that a friend or someone from the family will find it and the attempt to hide it will make them want to mess it up big time.

When I was talking to my roommates about my worries with the car, they told me that as long as no one could get inside, I should be fine. Then I informed them that Cody’s brother-in-law is a cop and they looked at me and said, “Oh, then you’re doomed. There’s nothing you can do about it.”

Every time I think about it, I have this horrifying image pop into my head. Our family and friends cheer as they see us off and then we see the car. It is the worst possible – covered in Oreos, peanut butter, among other food items and covered in plastic wrap. Then I stand there awkwardly as Cody runs around the car and tries to get all of the crap off. I’ll feel embarrassed, especially because I absolutely despise pranks. I’m pretty sure we’ll also be exhausted because it will be a busy day, so it won’t be any fun at all.

Cody keeps telling me that it will be okay, so I guess I’ll just have to trust him. (Even though I’m still freaking out on the inside!)

PLEASE! NO!
PLEASE! NO!
I can handle this.
I can handle this. It’s cute!
2 thoughts on “Not the Car!

  1. haha Well Julie, you don’t have to worry about the cop doing anything to it, because I totally agree with you, Roy & I both are still mad at the people that did our car!!! They hooked the horn to the brakes, they poured rotten cream corn all over the windshield, which dripped down in the heater vents and we were still smelling when I got rid of the car 1 year later! Then the inside was chuck full of styrofoam peanuts, which we were still finding a year later too! So I will personally protect your car for you guys!!!! 🙂

  2. Yeah no worries…. we are STILL finding little confetti pieces in our car 4 1/2 years later, it is ANNOYING!! Although, we did drive all the way to San Fransisco and back with “just married” and “love monkeys” painted on our windows. Everyone we saw loved it and congratulated us 🙂 So don’t worry, we’ll make it cute not messy 🙂

Leave a Reply

