Movies Have Meaning!

Since I started dating Cody, I have re-discovered something amazing: romance movies. Before I met him, I would watch romance movies and enjoy them, but I never fully understood them. When the movie would end, I would look at my roommate and say, “I’m so alone!” (It was more of a joke though.)

Now that I’ve had my own romance story and felt that love, romance movies have a whole new meaning. Rather than just a cute movie, they actually mean something to me now.

Back in February, my roommate and I went and saw The Vow. I was so frustrated by the ending. I felt like something was missing and I couldn’t figure out what it was. When it came out on DVD, I didn’t want to see it again. I thought it would just leave me frustrated once again. But then I decided to go ahead a watch it with my mom because it was the only popular movie that was available at Redbox.

At the time, I was dating Cody and we had just discussed getting married. And, oh. my. goodness. This movie was sooooooo much better! The plot line didn’t leave me feeling frustrated at the end! It’s definitely one of my favorites now.

Now I want to go and re-watch every single romantic movie again because I finally understand the emotions that are behind the characters and their actions. My eyes have been opened! haha 🙂

When I watched The Vow for a second time, the actual vows in the movie really hit home…

“I vow to help you love life, to always hold you with tenderness and to have the patience that love demands, to speak when words are needed and to share the silence when they are not and to live within the warmth of your heart and always call it home.” – Paige

The Vow…yeah, it’s a pretty great movie.

“I vow to fiercely love you, in all your forms, now and forever. I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love. I vow to love you. And no matter what challenges might carry us apart, we will always find a way back to each other.” – Leo

Man, oh man, I need to get started with all those romantic movies! I’ve got some catching up to do! (Oh, and any suggestions for good romance movies?)

One thought on “Movies Have Meaning!

  1. First let me just say I LOVE that chart. Second, I LOVED The Vow. I have seen the same quote from a certain romcom. Twice today, a romcom I adore, and I couldn’t place it in the movie for anything! Being engaged/married must change your perception. One of my favorite quotables is The Wedding Date.

Leave a Reply

