I’m Excited, People!

Every time I’ve mentioned to married people that I am getting married in December, they’ve looked at me and said, “Haha! Good luck!” One girl even looked at me and said, “Oh, man. You have no idea what you’re getting into.” They would say it’s nice to be married, but it’s insane and so hard.

I left a good portion of those conversations feeling a little down. I am excited to finally be married, while everyone else is sounding like I should be bracing myself for something not-so-exciting. I know that the transition between single life and married life will have its rough spots. I can already see it with friends. It’s really, really hard to balance time with friends and time with Cody. But I’m still so excited to marry him!

I wasn’t understanding why everyone sounded like it wouldn’t be fun.

I was sitting in my writing class yesterday when a fellow student asked me how all the wedding planning was coming along. (She got married about two months ago.) I told her we had the basics done and now it feels like we’re just waiting for the day to finally arrive.

Then she stopped and said, “Being married is great. You are going to love it.”

I didn’t even know how to respond. I was so happy to meet someone who was simply happy about being married and didn’t give me a list of things that were going to be hard. Because I’m excited and I want to remain excited. I don’t even think she meant to make an impact, but she did.

Being married is going to be great people!

This is Cody. I am marrying him. And I’m pretty dang excited!
2 thoughts on “I’m Excited, People!

  1. You SHOULD be excited. Being married is seriously awesome. I’m not sure what people say is so hard about it. I think if you marry someone you get along with and are able to communicate with, it’s pretty dang easy! You and Cody seem to really complement each other well and that’s a huge key to success. Don’t let people get you down. Marriage is what you make it and it sounds like you and Cody are on the right track. 🙂

  2. Be way excited! Being married is the best thing in the whole world!!!! Remember to compromise and love unconditionally!!! Don’t let people get you down, enjoy every moment of anticipation and then celebrate being married everyday for the rest of Eternity! 😀

Leave a Reply

