The Little Things

Earlier this week, I was freaking out over my homework. I had spent a good portion of my weekend on homework already and I still had a Spanish assignment and most of my Statistics assignment to finish on Sunday. Cody and I had a homework party, aka study session. As I was starting my Stats assignment, I looked over at him. It was very obvious that he was playing Bejeweled on my laptop.

“Hey, where’s your homework?”

“I don’t have any.”

“Oh, well, why don’t you go get some sleep? You have work at 5:30 in the morning.”

“I’m good. It’s worth it to be here.”

Unable to come up with a quick response, I resigned myself to continue the homework. I stared at the problem I was on. I couldn’t tell if it was Poisson or Binomial and I was confused. None of the answers I got seemed right. I got out of my chair and laid face-down on the ground. (For some reason, this helps me when I’m stressed. Try it sometime.) Cody closed the laptop, laid down on the ground next to me and started rubbing my back.

“Take a break,” he said.

I whimpered an answer back. “I can’t. I haven’t even finished one problem.”

I jumped back up to my desk and did the best I could on a couple problems. Giving up on that, I went and sat next to Cody on the bed so that I could at least get my Spanish done. I began to stare at the blank page, unsure of what to write and was visibly frustrated about it. Cody crawled to the end of the bed and started massaging my feet. Now, I’m not one for foot massages, especially when my brother sticks his foot in my face and goes, “Will you give me a foot massage?!” But this was one of the sweetest things Cody had ever done for me. He even pulled out my Japanese Cherry Blossom body butter and used that. And, of course, when I finished my assignment, I gave him a foot massage in return.

The next day, I was still stressing out about my Stats assignment because I didn’t have it done and it was due by 1:00pm. Sitting in the student center, I was freaking out, again, that I would fail the assignment and then in consequence fail the class. He kept assuring me that I would be fine and that I would not fail. When I found out I had left my calculator at home, he started to use his computer to look up the numbers for me.

As we packed up our backpacks to go to his class and my Stats instructor’s office hours, the last equation was taking a while to process on the laptop. I told him to not worry about it and I would just have to go without it. As we started walking out, I passively told Cody I hadn’t eaten yet and I probably wouldn’t because I had too much to do. He then grabbed my hand and dragged me over to the pizza place in the student center and bought me some lunch. (By the way, three dollars for a single slice of pizza is kinda ridiculous.) The whole time, I kept saying, “It’s okay. I’ll just eat at the apartment when I get back.” However, the pizza was delicious and it made my day a lot better.

As I left the office hours of my Stats instructor, I felt like the most terrible fiancé ever. But then I opened my phone to a text message from Cody. It said, “15 choose 5 is 3003 :)” It was the answer to the equation his laptop had been trying to figure out. I stopped and started to cry. The little things over that 24 hour period had shown me how truly amazing Cody is and how lucky I am to have him in my life. With happy tears flooding my eyes, I texted him back, “I love you so much.”

2 thoughts on “The Little Things

Leave a Reply

