A City Girl in the Country World

Hello World!

Two years ago tomorrow, I will have lived in Cache Valley for two years. I have not been back to visit my freeway-filled state of California since the move. It has been quite the adventure and I can’t wait to go back to visit my friends and impress them with my newfound country ways. I am pretty clueless when it comes to farms and horses and other things associated with the country life.

At the beginning of school in Fall of 2011, I was chatting with my roommate, Julie (yes, the same name as me), about what we want in a guy. I said that as long as he doesn’t hunt and is willing to become a Giants fan, I’d be happy. (I do hope for more than that, but those were two very important things in my mind.) She laughed and said I’d probably end up marrying a Dodgers fan that hunts every weekend. I told her it would never happen.

On March 3, 2012, I went on a date with a guy named Cody that I had met at a game night and was in my ward at church. I took me by surprise when he called because I didn’t know him as well as I knew other guys. We went to the Crystal Hot Springs on a group date. When we got back to our apartment complex at 10:00, he walked me to my apartment and we sat at the breakfast bar in the small kitchen. We started talking and didn’t stop until 2:30 in the morning. I was blown away by how easy the conversation flowed with him. Pretty soon, we were finding ways to spend time with each other. We would sit and talk (and talk and talk and talk) until the wee hours of the morning.

Fast forward three and a half months, I am happy to say we are now dating. He is my cowboy from Wyoming. And yes, he hunts. I am working on making him a Giants fan though. I bought him a Giants hat last month so he can show off his pride. One for two isn’t bad, right?

Because my cowboy’s turning me country, I’ve had quite a few adventures. When we drove back from visiting his family this past weekend, we drove through three canyons. There were mule deer everywhere!! I was scared out of my mind. I’m used to dealing with other cars, not wildlife! It sat there through the canyons, clinging to the middle compartment and handle on the door. It was one of the scariest cars rides I’d ever been on. When I left his apartment yesterday, he said, “Watch out for the deer!” I laughed it off and hopped in my car. As I pulled off the main road to drive up to my family’s house, there was a deer. Right there. Just chilling off the main road. I’d never seen one down that far! Sometimes the country life confuses me…
Welcome to my journey. Enjoy the ride!
Leave a Reply

